Status
Please reply by conversation.

tradewinds

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 3, 2006
Central Florida
Hi All,
I am very new to C-Band. The reason I am exploring this option is that I recently noticed two channels I would like to get that are apparently free. One from Barbados and the other from Jamaica. These are the channels:

SportsMax (for cricket matches. Same matches sold in packages in USA):
http://www.lyngsat.com/intel707.html

CaribVision:
http://www.lyngsat.com/intel1r.html

I am in Florida. My questions are:

1) Can I get these channels?
2) What equipment do I need (receiver, actuator, dish, cable, etc.)?
3) Confirm that the are indeed free channels

Thanks

Looks like a 10' c-band for SportsMax and a 6' for CaribVision are the requirements for florida.

http://www.lyngsat-maps.com/maps/intel707_westhemi.html
http://www.lyngsat-maps.com/maps/intel1r_uslam.html

You might be able to mount 2 LNBs on a 10 footer, 8º apart, focussed on Intelsat 707 at 53.0°W for a fixed setup...or buy an actuator & G-box.

The encryption is DVB so they are ITC and any low cost box will work, but most on this site would probably recommend a Coolsat.

Maybe someone pulling those sats can offer more info.

Well on the low side 255cm (8.6 feet) for intel707, so it's possible with 8', I'm guessing. Not a strong sat.

Here's hoping someone in the S.E. chimes in with more info!

The coverage map for Intelsat 707 is deceiving. The edge of the footprint has an EIRP of 32.3 dBW, for which Lyngsat recommends a 10' dish. However Florida is not on the edge of the footprint and almost certainly receives more power than the edge. Unfortunately the coverage map provides no other contours. The beam peak is shown as 40 dBW, which is pretty typical for C-band. It's hard to say with any certainty, but I expect an 8' would work fine and there's a decent possibility you could get by with a 6'.