Alligning 119/110 w/ a 301 reciever

Melnic

Original poster
Apr 2, 2008
I have a 301 reciever that I am trying to get experiance alligning before I actually install it at a vacation home.
Because I want to be able to understand how everything works and be able to service it myself, I chose to buy the hardware and install myself (knowing this would be quite an adventure). I'm an electrical engineer so I know my way around electronics.
The installation manual does not match the LNB nor the reciever.
I have what I believe is a quad LNB (dual twin?). It looks exactly like this:
https://www.dssroom.com/images/Leg_Quad___Gallery.jpg

I have 2 coax RG6 cables one each plugged into the far ends.
My current installation zip code is 21074
I have a couple questions:
1) should the skew be left alone to what it was shipped at (90 degrees).
2) Should I allign 119 first, then 110 and work back and forth?
3) I had alligned and had a 119 signal just fine and did a switch test (where is showed only 119 was being recieved), then I accidently exited out. Now all I get is a screen saying that the reciever needs to be activated and I can no longer get to the allignment screens. Is there a trick to getting back to the allignment screens?
4) Does one of the LNB units ONLY recieve 119 and the other recieve 110? I was wondering if I should block off one LNB circle and allign w/ 119, then allign the 110 so I have it matched up properly.

Any other suggestions on allignment would be appreciated.
For now, I have the mount that came with it anchored into a 1000lb concrete pedistal I have at work.

Thx in advance.