An Open Letter to Charlie

rdlink

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 18, 2004
Below is the text of the email I just sent to ceo@echostar.com. We'll see what kind of response I get back, if any:

After nearly six years as a DISH subscriber, I’ve had enough. I’ve had enough promises that aren’t kept. I’ve had enough of CSRs that don’t know as much about my system as I do. I’ve had enough of “upgrades” to my system that cause it to work worse. I’ve had enough of rate increases that make your service more expensive than cable. I’ve had enough of being told that my unhappiness concerns your people, only to have them tell me that they can’t (read won’t) do anything about it. Comcast is going to take my dish and a receiver off of my hands, and I’ll sell the other one on eBay. Want to know the specifics? Try these:

• I’ve been buying your most expensive package for several years. It keeps getting more expensive. Comcast will provide me with 4 receivers, one of them a DVR that actually works like it’s supposed to for about $30 less a month than what I pay you. When I tell this to your CSR, and ask them what they’re willing to do about it to keep this unhappy customer the only answer I get is that they’ll offer me a one-time, $50 credit. Charlie, that’s almost as insulting and lame as the useless free pay per view coupon you send out every time you raise my rates. Am I supposed to just forget about the fact that it will take less than two months to get that $50 savings from Comcast? And I’ll keep getting the price break from Comcast month after month.