Any Word On A New Receiver With eSATA?

Shimyr

Original poster
Sep 5, 2008
Hello all, this is my first post.

I have a 622 that I got back in Oct 06 which I need replaced. Being a computer builder for 12 years I have a lot of experience with HDs failing and I am quite sure mine is on its way. It's a lot slower than it once was, sound drops out occasionally, no sound for 1 second after I hit swap when it used to have sound a split second before the picture popped up, takes longer to initiate a recording, takes about 2 seconds to react to the skip/restore toggle on a timer, etc.. It's probably due to the fact that I have it maxed out constantly, despite having an extra 1.6TB among 3 externals, sometimes having it go under the 5 HD minutes remaining limit (quite proud when it does that to finish a recording heh heh :D). I am apparently just as much a pack-rat digitally as I am in real life.

So at this point I have two options, to either get a replacement 622 for free, or pay $75 to upgrade to the 722. I was all gung-ho to get a nice new 722 with the extra 20+ hours of HD recording space, but I realized how quickly I would use that up with all the new movie channels we have (MGMHD and EncoreHD are killing me :eek:).

What I really need is a receiver with an eSATA input because USB is not getting the job done. That way I could get 3 or 4 times the space of the 722's drive with a single external and actually be able to access it in a timely manner. Two of my 3 external cases are USB/eSATA so it would instantly make a difference for me. I mean, TiVo has it, DirecTV has it, why are we left in the cold? So my question is, does anyone here have any insider knowledge of a new receiver, specifically relating to the addition of an eSATA port? New receivers usually come out near the holidays, so if one is around the corner I'll hold off on upgrading and just get my 622 replaced for now.