ATSC 3.0 to be Deployed in 40 U.S. Markets by End of 2020

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by osu1991, Apr 9, 2019.

  1. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,718
    Likes Received:
    8,100
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    FTA4PA likes this.
  2. TNGuy84

    TNGuy84 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I doubt it'll be used to sell Internet access. Most likely, it will be used to for on-demand content or something similar (selling premium content, perhaps?). MovieBeam did something like this in the early 2000s to sell downloadable movies to set-top boxes via OTA, but speed of the service was very lacking, and only a small amount of content was available.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  3. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,652
    Likes Received:
    1,257
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Internet access would require two way communication.

    That is very unlikely for a TV station , however, internet up TV down may work.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  4. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,642
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    I think this is what they have in mind. I can't imagine how it could be practical without some heavy duty Single Frequency Network action, but that's someone else's problem.
     
  5. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,642
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    It has nothing to do with how savvy they are about management or technology, it is all about what kind of revenue they could derive from it. There is an unbearable cost in tying up their bandwidth with unicasts. They may be able to practically use the bandwidth on multicast.
     
  6. TNGuy84

    TNGuy84 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Tennessee
    One thing that crossed my mind is the cost of upgrading to new equipment. Many of the stations in the U.S. are already putting up new transmitters for the repack. Would they really want to use more resources to set up all new equipment for 3.0 after just making adjustments under the current system for the repack? What if this turns into another HD Radio thing? That was an optional thing for the broadcasters and not mandated like Analog to Digital for TV. It was supposed to be the big new thing in the late 2000s. Now, I don't see any mention of HD Radio stations going online or any new HD Radio receivers out there.
     
  7. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,642
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    ATSC 3.0 is sort of a leap of faith, but the broadcasters are seeing dollar signs so their vision may be somewhat obscured.

    It all comes down to adoption and how much money the broadcasters are willing to spend on making it happen. I reason that the manufacturers will likely have to give the tuners away to do their part in priming the pump.

    I would hope that if adoption isn't overwhelming, the FCC would shut it down as a failed approach to introducing a new technology. I suppose Congress could subsequently mandate it, but who knows if the political climate will be compatible at that time.
     
  8. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,642
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    In terms of new equipment, I expect that only new modulators are required. The repack doesn't require new modulators (except for the lighthouse stations that will need the most efficient DTV technology) but most of the other stuff will be new (and acquired with substantial subsidy from the repack fund). That "stuff" (link components, amplifiers, antennas) should be as useful with Next Gen TV as it is with DTV.
     
  9. DarkStarPDX

    DarkStarPDX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    The new transmitters being installed for repack are already ATSC 3.0 capable: https://www.tvtechnology.com/repack/sinclair-chooses-rohde-schwarz-high-power-transmitters-for-90-stations
     
    TNGuy84 and comfortably_numb like this.
  10. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,718
    Likes Received:
    8,100
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    The transmitter for KMJC in Louisburg, Kansas is already 3.0 ready and has been since it went on the air :)

    IMG_3184.JPG IMG_3176.JPG IMG_3175.JPG IMG_3105.JPG IMG_3099.JPG
     
  11. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    97,740
    Likes Received:
    14,028
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    I know here in Hartford they are working on the repack and after that 3.0 is the next project and they are hot and heavy to get that going.


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    bluegras and comfortably_numb like this.
  12. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,642
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    I expect that in some markets that aren't dominated by Pearl TV members, adoption may be slower.
     
  13. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    97,740
    Likes Received:
    14,028
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    I know they have been gunning to go here for over a year now.

    For the repack new antennas are going up next week by helicopter.


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  14. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,770
    Likes Received:
    12,753
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Hmmm. Correct me if I’m wrong. The transmitting antenna is shaped for the frequency, and maybe power. It “doesn’t care” if the signal is ATSC or ATSC 3.

    And in my mind, a transmitter just boosts an incoming signal and sends it out. The shaping, the placement of data to ride the carrier signal, is really done by, or used to be done by, a separate piece of equipment. Now, I guess these two functions have been largely consolidated into one piece of equipment.

    Corrections or confirmations, please.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  15. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,642
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    The antenna for a sending a particular frequency doesn't change with modulation scheme. Shaping of the coverage area is done through with multiple antennas and other trickery
    This is generally true.
     
    navychop likes this.
  16. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Location:
    85w
    I have a odd question here. I live in fort wayne market we have some room here for low power tv stations. Can you have a low power tv station to use for subs and use the main station transmitter for 4k. I wasn't trying to sound dumb here.
     
  17. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,642
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    This would require multiple RF channels to pull off and thus far, I don't think that's supported by the FCC channel allocation policy.

    That said, I do have a local channel (KGW) that broadcasts its weather camera on another low-power RF channel (KGWZ).
     
    danristheman likes this.
  18. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,652
    Likes Received:
    1,257
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Our Ramar stations do that, they run at least 3 frequencies here.
     
  19. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,642
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Having one company own multiple stations is not the same as stations offering each other's subchannels.

    According to rabbitears.info, each of the Lubbock stations that have subchannels offers only their own numbered set of subchannels that are X.Y of the main channel X.

    What I was talking about, as an example, is having 20.4-6 on a different RF channel from 20.1-3. As the repack and ATSC 3.0 transitions progress we're told that we'll see channel A "buddying up" with Channel B such that A.1-3 will be on the same RF channel as B.1-2.
    Code:
    Display channel     RF channel
      A.1                 C.1
      A.2                 C.2
      A.3                 C.3
      B.1                 C.4
      B.2                 C.5
     
  20. bluegras

    bluegras SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    Waiting for Chicago to go
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...