Black Screen with Banner - Hopper

buckybadger2014

Original poster
May 13, 2014
Milwaukee
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to DISH after having DirecTV for years with no issues. The Hopper technology was enough to convince me to switch, but we've been having enough issues so far that we are starting to question the switch....

The issue I had for the 4th time in the last couple weeks is a black screen on an HD channel that I am recording. Today it was ESPN2, the other 3 times it has been my regional sports network (recording local baseball game).

In all 4 instances, the recording didn't actually record, although it looks like it is on the guide. when I go to the channel in real time, I just get a black screen. This occurs on the Hopper, Super Joey, and Super Joeys - none work.

When I call support, they always have me reset the main hopper, which "solves" the problem for the time being. But they make no attempt to actually solve the issue, which is extremely inconvenient because I have to reset the Hopper, and end up missing what I tried to record.

Anyone have any ideas on how to permanently fix this? Could the fact that I am attempting to DVR be part of the issue? It seems like a common enough issue since they have a link about it, but is there anyway to avoid this in the future???

http://www.mydish.com/support/black-screen-with-banner-hopper?WT.svl=leftnav

Thanks!
Jeff

Maybe it's signal loss and switching to SD feed and getting stuck on a black screen. I had that happen to me last week and I was told it's been worked on. I would check you signal levels on those hd channels and also remember whether you had weather at the time

Posted Via The FREE SatelliteGuys Reader App!

Sounds like the channels were blacked out as the programming or event was being shown on a local feed..if that is true there is nothing Dish or Direct could do as its a FCC controlled thing and how content is broadcasted to certain regions in favor of advertising.