Broadcasters are trying to prevent you from receiving HDTV via satellite


Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Feb 16, 2004
Broadcasters are trying to prevent you

from receiving HDTV via satellite!

Are you going to let them get away with that?

Did you know that since the year 2000, the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) Political Action Committee has made more than $2 million in political contributions to candidates and members of Congress? All of this is meant to do one thing – deny satellite customers choice.

If consumers don’t speak up and tell their elected officials to resist the persuasion of the powerful broadcast lobby, our laws won’t reflect the needs of television consumers.

As satellite television has grown to more than 20 million subscribers nationwide, the broadcasters, from their palatial headquarters in Washington, DC have stepped up their fight against legislation that benefits consumers all while they drag their feet in transitioning to digital television.

Fight Back!

Thanks for your previous work on this issues. Your letter and emails are helping. What we need now is for customers to pick up and phone and tell your Senator to stand up to the powerful broadcast lobby! Tell him or her that you are a satellite television consumer who deserves a voice in the laws being passed in Congress. It shouldn’t be all about the broadcasters!

Tell your Senator to vote YES on S.2644 the Ensign Satellite bill. This bill would allow satellite companies to deliver an HDTV signal to many customers who cannot receive one today. The first vote on this important piece of legislation will take place on Tuesday morning.

Call the U.S. Capitol Switchboard at (202) 224-3121

Ask to be connected to your Senator’s office.

Senate Commerce Committee Members

Sen. John McCain, Chairman (R-AZ)

Sen. Ted Stevens (R-AK)

Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-CA)

Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL)

Sen. Daniel Inouye (D-HI)

Sen. Peter G. Fitzgerald (R-IL)

Sen. Sam Brownback (R-KS)

Sen. John B. Breaux (R-LA)

Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME)

Sen. John F. Kerry (D-MA)

Sen. Trent Lott (R-MS)

Sen. Conrad Burns (R-MT)

Sen. John Ensign (R-NV)

Sen. John Sununu (R-NH)

Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)

Sen. Byron L. Dorgan (D-ND)

Sen. Gordon Smith (R-OR)

Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Sen. Ernest F. Hollings (D-SC)

Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX)

Sen. George Allen (R-VA)

Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA)

Sen. John D. Rockefeller IV (D-WV)

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 0, Members: 0, Guests: 0)

Who Read This Thread (Total Members: 1)