Channel Sharing Question

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by Geronimo, Sep 5, 2017.

  1. Geronimo

    Geronimo Topic Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,243
    Likes Received:
    840
    In Channel Sharing Arrangements will the respective channels actually share a transmitter or might they each transmit from their own transmitter. here in Norther Virginia two different stations have shared channel 30 since the digital transition and they each use their own transmitter. I was curious if this would become more common or whether the host station will simply allocate bandwidth to the tenant using their legacy transmitter.
     
  2. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    43,741
    Likes Received:
    8,947
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I didn't think it was possible to use two transmitters. I guess they have a firm line drawn across the frequencies used.
     
  3. Geronimo

    Geronimo Topic Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,243
    Likes Received:
    840
    Again. Just curious. I know that in the case of the MHz stations they actually use different frequencies but both map to channel 30. I am unaware of any current case where they use the same channel from different locations.
     
  4. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    820
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Nah ... don't think so ....

    CSAs mean that one station surrendered their RF channel in the auction for financial compensation and will share another station's RF channel using different sub-channels mapped to the virtual channel numbers of either sharer.
     
  5. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,420
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    I don't think they necessarily have to pick one or the other's virtual channel number. I think I have at least one RF channel that broadcasts different virtual subchannels as fill-in.

    On the other side of the coin, my local PBS station (KOPB) appears to be broadcasting from at least two different towers at different frequencies and having all the subchannels show up in sequence. Earlier Trip pointed out that they were sending two HD streams, two SD streams and a bunch of audio on a single carrier, but now it appears that they may be using two transmitters that are less than 4 miles apart for their Portland feeds. There is a third transmitter that can't be much more than 20 miles away from the other two and I'm not sure what that's about.
     
  6. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    820
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    That's what I was trying to say ....

    With CSAs you can have different sub-channels on the same RF carrier, but mapped to different virtual channel numbers.

    And I expect to see this for a number of stations in the LA market here over the next serveral years for the ones which gave up their spectrum at auction to enter into CSAs.
     
  7. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,134
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    A station can broadcast from two different locations using the same virtual channel as long as the real channel frequencies are different - what a waste of watts.
     
  8. ancient

    ancient SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Posts:
    270
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    USA
    It's not a waste if the two transmitters give coverage to parts of the viewing area that otherwise would not receive an acceptable signal. In some places, particularly those at some distance from any major city, viewing areas can be quite large geographically and it would be nearly impossible for a single transmitter to provide an acceptable signal. I would imagine that mountains would also impede signals and possibly necessitate multiple transmitters if full coverage is desired. Remember that reception and reliable reception are two different things - people stop watching channels that lose the signal while they are trying to watch their shows.

    What I don't get is reusing the same channel numbers. It makes it real difficult to tell which transmitter you're tuning in when they are have the exact same channel numbering. Unless maybe they are just picking up the raw signal from the main tower and retransmitting it without any processing whatsoever.
     
    yomama likes this.
  9. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    2,709
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Here in the Kansas City region, WROB, KMJC and KCKS all broadcast from different tower locations but use the same virtual channel number 25. This enables them to cover most of the metro by using 3 different LP signals. One in Topeka, one in Basehor, and one in Louisburg. All 3 have different UHF "real" channel numbers. It works pretty well. One of the 3 (KCKS) is getting booted in the upcoming repack, so I'm not sure yet where it will go.
     

***
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice

Separate names with a comma.

More...