Channel Stack Splitters

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Jackonearth, May 16, 2018.

  1. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Who makes them?
    Where can I get them?
    Do they support dual-tuner receivers or only single-tuner ones?
    Are they the same as the Directv SWM splitters?
     
  2. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,134
    Likes Received:
    2,251
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    For qam systems?
     
  3. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    For a Dish DPH system.
     
  4. DishSubLA

    DishSubLA SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,803
    Likes Received:
    717
    Dish traditionally uses Band Stacking Switch (BSS) technology, whille DirecTV traditionally uses Channel Stacking Switch (CSS) technology. SWM is CSS technology. Of course, BSS and CSS are incompatible.

    To the OP: it's easier and more reliable to simply get the dish branded switches and nodes, etc. it seems to be more difficult to find third parties that manufacturer switching technology that will work on Dish, but they are out there but very hard to find are not necessarily less expensive than getting the dish branded switches and noted cetera. on the other hand, it is very easy to get third party switch and technology that will work with DirecTV. keep in mind that any switching technology that is not dish branded voids the warranty and if anything should need repair or replacement it all on you. also dish only stands behind Holland branded splitters combiners etc as an approved third party equipment. the use of only approved equipment not only maintains the Warranty but is guaranteed to work on a dish system and if it doesn't dish will stand behind all approved equipment and replace as per protection plan or current policies that may be at no cost to you.

    Can anyone confirm if Dish is still using BSS for Hopper 3 and still not using CSS technology. it is just been a guess of mine that for the H3, Dish is still using BSS and the first capacity for 8 tuners is on one set of bands while the other 8 tuners are on the same bands but 180 degrees out of phase of from the other. That is just a complete guess.
     
    TheKrell and HipKat like this.
  5. crodrules

    crodrules SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    2,825
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Peter Cetera? :D
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  6. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Thank you for your reply and all the great info.
    I'm starting to think I'm chasing a myth. Someone on here suggested using a channel stack splitter with a DPH system to connect multiple Wally receivers as an alternative to cascading DPP44 switches but I haven't been able to find any channel stack splitters for Dish and I haven't heard pros like Hipkat mention them. This seems odd to me because I've always been able to easily find and buy any Dish equipment.
    BTW does anyone know how many DPP44 switches can be connected to a dish?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  7. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,233
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    I have seen a diagram for six DPP44 switches. When I had four HWSs I had two switches connected to a DISH 1000+ dish.
     
  8. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Four Hoppers? :eeek
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  9. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Does the diagram just have all six switches cascaded?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  10. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,233
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Here is a pic of my headend when I had four HWSs and one Joey 1.

    HopperHeadEndPri.jpg
     
    HipKat likes this.
  11. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Wow!
    What kind of coax did you use?
     
  12. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,233
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    RG6
     
  13. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,233
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    I can't find the diagram for six DPP44 switches. But here is a pic of three that are cascaded in the installation instructions.

    DPP44 Switch.jpg
     
  14. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,233
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Here is a pic of my headend with my present setup. Two H3s, two 4KJs, and two WJs.

    Avatar Hopper 3.jpg
     
    Jackonearth and HipKat like this.
  15. bnewt

    bnewt SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Posts:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Shepherdsville, Ky
    that's pretty impressive
     
    HipKat and charlesrshell like this.
  16. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    The regular copper clad stuff or the solid copper kind?
     
  17. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Thanks
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  18. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,233
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Solid
     
  19. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    I figured copper clad wouldn't work. Thanks again.
     
  20. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,233
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Copper clad works ok.
     
    JSheridan likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...