Charter internet

LocutusOfBorg

Free speech is more important than your feelings
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Aug 2, 2009
USA
I've been using their 30 Mb service for 6 months and it seems to be working as promised. The download rate actually gets above 40 Mb at times but is usually between 30 and 35 Mb. So far I'm satisfied with the service but I'm not happy about the cost increase after 6 months. If I can find a better price on the modem I'll stop renting it ($7/month) and buy a modem. The SB6121 modem costs about $85.

Charter is no longer supposed to be charging for modem rental, it should be rolled into the monthly cost along with this new accounts are required to use Charter supplied modems. If you are still seeing it on your bill I would contact them, I have had great results with the online team on dslreports or the AVS forums.

Last edited:
my charter internet bill just when from 34.99 to 48.99. I have been paying the 34.99 for over 4 years and they are claiming I was in a promo that ended. 4 year promo? Canceling and going with my local phone company. They have less speed but a much lower rate at 19.99. Does charter call and offer better rates after one has canceled? I don't want to change but the price jump is just to high.

Thanks

my charter internet bill just when from 34.99 to 48.99. I have been paying the 34.99 for over 4 years and they are claiming I was in a promo that ended. 4 year promo? Canceling and going with my local phone company. They have less speed but a much lower rate at 19.99. Does charter call and offer better rates after one has canceled? I don't want to change but the price jump is just to high.

Thanks

The only thing you can try is to contact retention.49.99 is the standard price for 30/4 service.We currently pay 39.99,that's a promotional price for the 30/4.