Contemplating HD......

jrl1948

Original poster
Jul 18, 2006
I hope this is the right place for this question - if not I apologize - newbie here.

I currently have a DishPro 500. I get the 110 and 119 bird but trees block the low bird (61?) which kept me from getting HD. As I understand it now the HD signal has been moved to another Sat (129?). If this is the case can I keep my current dish and pick up that bird and upgrade my box to HD and receive HD progams

Thanks.

I hope this is the right place for this question - if not I apologize - newbie here.

I currently have a DishPro 500. I get the 110 and 119 bird but trees block the low bird (61?) which kept me from getting HD. As I understand it now the HD signal has been moved to another Sat (129?). If this is the case can I keep my current dish and pick up that bird and upgrade my box to HD and receive HD progams

Thanks.
You'll need a new dish that sees 110/119/129, and an HD receiver. Log in to the Dish website, or call them for a Dishn'-it-up upgrade. Depending on your location, 129 might not be reliable either. People in the NW have dropout problems.

And :welcome newbie.

Thanks.

There are a number of issues that fall into place when considering HD service via Dish... HD Nationals reside on 61.5 and 129 (Locals, Discovery, Food, etc), per se, while HD v of HBD, MAX, SHO, Starz, ESPN, reside on 110, etc...

1.) Where are you located, and where do you reside in 129's footprint?

2.) There can be absolutely no obstructions when looking at 129 (weaker signal, 129 replacement slated late 2008 and should be up and running 90 days after launch).

3.) Is HD worth it... Absolutely!!! The difference is tantamount to watching TV through a screen door when viewing SD content v HD. I'm a 'HD Only' client (subscribe to no SD service). Very, very happy... movies, sports, documentaries... there's just no comparison.

4.) Once you get a taste, its incomprehensible to consider going back.