cord shaving

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by sxmfan2018, Oct 17, 2018.

  1. sxmfan2018

    sxmfan2018 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    los angeles
    i have dish network now and i am happy with them. though i am wondering if i can drop the locals since i can pick up about 150 via outdoor antenna for free. or are they gonna try and sell me it's part of the package we can't do that. i read some where that i could drop the locals
     
  2. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4,564
    Likes Received:
    4,132
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    You can drop locals from any package except Welcome Pack, IIRC.
     
    crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  3. barryaz1

    barryaz1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Posts:
    201
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Scottsdale AZ
    And will they still show up in the guide and be easily recordable?
     
    wormil and charlesrshell like this.
  4. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4,564
    Likes Received:
    4,132
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    They will show up in your guide, but not all OTA channels and subchannels have guide data.
     
    TheKrell, crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  5. KaptainRandom

    KaptainRandom SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    mesa az
    However the OTAs showup while you subscribe to locals is how they will showup after you cancel locals.

    Recording OTAs will be limited to the 2 tuners of the OTA adapter, so potential timer/tuner conflicts

    Sent from my SM-G930P using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  6. barryaz1

    barryaz1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Posts:
    201
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Scottsdale AZ
    Cool. I can save a few $. With Hulu, I don’t even need the dual tuner
     
  7. jevans64

    jevans64 SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    351
    Location:
    +34.73823n -86.79162w
    Not sure if it still works the same way but before I had Flex plus Locals I was ONLY getting data for the main channels. The sub-channels and channels out of my DMA had NO guide data.
     
    TheKrell and charlesrshell like this.
  8. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,709
    Likes Received:
    1,153
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    That is about right. When I was using an OTA adapter with my Hopper2000, the only subchannels I got guide data for were PBS. No out of market channels had guide data.
     
  9. crodrules

    crodrules SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    2,851
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    I think the lowest-level Latino package (Latino Basico) is the same way.

    There have been reports of problems with certain individual channels, where the OTA guide data will show up with a subscription to the satellite locals, but then the guide data for that channel disappears after you drop the locals. That seems to be a glitch, though, and only affects certain channels, not the entire local package.
     
    TheKrell and comfortably_numb like this.
  10. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    22,030
    Likes Received:
    13,073
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Unfortunately, that has not been my experience wiith the Washington DC locals. I had all the guide data on my favorite channel, our local PBS channel 26, and I dropped locals as soon as that was possible and saved $10/mo. 26.0 went away as expected, but so did guide data for 26.1. The WETA subchannels did before and still do have guide data. I turned the locals via satellite back on, and 26.1 guide data reappeared. I turned them off again, and it's gone again. I went around and around with one of the nice DIRT members here, but they could do nothing but ask for a fix that never came. How long ago were locals optional? That has been how long I have been without my local PBS main channel guide. Sucks.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  11. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    45,087
    Likes Received:
    10,128
    Location:
    Northern VA
    My DVR+ shows the full EPG, including 26 in toto.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
  12. barryaz1

    barryaz1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Posts:
    201
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Scottsdale AZ
    Here in Phoenix I have all my sub channels information. This must depend upon the market
     
    crodrules likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...