directv odd transponder problem - did search

Discussion in 'Cable and Fiber Providers' started by my_vw_sucks, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. my_vw_sucks

    my_vw_sucks Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been checking out the other threads and it seems most people are having trouble w/ their even transponders. In my case I'm having trouble w/ my odd transponders. I've had the system installed for about six months w/ trouble free operation. I have a terk oval dish w/ built in multiswitch going to a terk 5x8 powered multiswitch and all 8 lines connected to receivers or tivo boxes. On the left half of the multiswitch I am having no problems, seeing good signal strength (80-97), except for the spotbeams not being received on certain transponders. On the right half of the multiswitch, some receivers have long lines to them on this side, I get a dancing signal strength (from 0-45-80-50-0, etc) or no signal at all. We just had a good rain storm, could this be some sort of water intrusion into the coax or at a splice. It started when one receiver was searching for sat yet all others had signal on all channels. I moved a receiver over to that room to see if it was a receiver problem, still no channels. But when I moved the receiver I used to test back to its original location, it couldn't find sat either, no signal on all transponders. When I woke up in the morning I had the situation I described above, no odd and good even. I get good picture on some channels and pixilated, freeze or searching for sat on the others. A buddy said it was most likely a bad multiswitch, but I don't understand how a multiswitch could only be bad on one side. And plus, I don't want to pay for a new one if I don't have too.

    Side not: It seems that people on this forum are much nicer than the others (ie auto and game forums). Thanks for any help. :)
     
  2. al

    al Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Posts:
    483
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Montgomery City, MO
    The most likely culprit is the multiswitch. How long are your runs on the right side of the switch?

    Al
     
  3. fishky

    fishky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    FISHKY: I had unplugged receiver, with no fix. I checked out all connections- seemed
    ok. I then unplugged receiver, and dis-connected sat. antenna for about 1/2 hour.

    Do not know what was wrong, but now have transponder signals.

    tks, you-all
     
  4. my_vw_sucks

    my_vw_sucks Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    they are easily over a 150ft.
     
  5. al

    al Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Posts:
    483
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Montgomery City, MO
    You may try to use a bullet amp (in line amp) and see if it helps. My guess is that it is the total length of cable that is your problem. If you want to troubleshoot, go to Home Depot, and purchase 150' or so of Quad RG6, solid copper conductor cable and some ends, and run a temporary line. Your installer most likely used standard RG6, with a copper clad steel center conductor, and 150 feet is quite a bit for that type of cable. If the temporary cable solves your problem with that receiver, then you will need to purchase more of the Quad and redo the other long runs.

    Best of Luck,

    Al
     
  6. toto

    toto SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    860
    Likes Received:
    1
    Go outside and check your connections, starting on the outside of the dish and working toward that dish. It sounds like corrosion caused by the rain has "melted" the wire. You should be able to strip back, reconnect, make sure that you have a good silicone tape wrap around all of the connectors outside the house.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...