DirecTV or DISH Network ?

Ninja

Original poster
Mar 22, 2005
Forgive the total newb question and I know it depends on many factors. After some details I hope that all of you can give me your opinion on what would be best in my situation. I am tired of getting less for more and I am doing research before I make the jump from Time Warner cable to DBS. I am a big TiVo fan and since D* uses their equipment that is a plus for them but it seems from the discussion here that they plan to stop using TiVo. A major concern of mine is that D* does not offer my locals and E* does. That is a plus for E*. NFL Sunday Ticket is very attractive to me as football is the only sport I really follow closely. E* is cheaper than D*. I'm not sure of the total number of channels available comparatively. E* offers Japanese programming which is a plus since I speak Japanese and my wife is Japanese. D* seems to be more committed to HD and has plans for several new birds to be launched over the next several years. Does E* have plans for any new birds other than the planned acquisition of the VOOM one ? On the D* website they do not offer a selection for the Hawaii time zone like E* does making it difficult to do a head to head comparison for programming. It seems many new changes will be taking place by this summer. As a new subscriber would it be best for me to hold off a little longer to see how things shake out before deciding. If so how long do you advise I wait ? TIA for all of your help.

I am leave Direct TV and going to Dish becuase the Tivo is overloaded in CPU. It is just so slow. Even with the upgrade the guide is super slow, and the hour glass is on a lot.

If you have seen a stand a lone non Direct TV it is fast.

Dishnetworks DVRs are very fast. And I like the guide much better. I also like the Live video in the corner and caller ID that Direct Tivo does not have.

its personal preference, you should try both out before you buy.