DISH 1000.4WA Pointing Problem

John3

Original poster
Feb 19, 2013
Wisconsin
Hi,

I'm a novice when it comes to dish installs and I've run into a signal problem.

I have a 1000.4 WA DISH and am trying to pick up sat 119, 110, 129. I have a VIP211K receiver and a DP44 switch installed. Not sure i absolutely needed the switch but as long as it isn't causing my signal issues i'm not to worried about it. I have the mounting post installed on my roof and it checks out with the level in both directions. I am pointing the dish using the values from the installation guide for my zip code 54952. it says it should be Skew 117, Elevation 30, Az 221. At these locations I can't get any reception on the receiver. When i was trying different settings i put the dish at a Skew 54, EL 31, Az 215-225 i was able to get sat 110 at a signal strength of about 50-58. The receiver says that all 3 lnb's are picking up sat 110. This is the only setting I've been able to get a signal. As soon as i start moving the skew closer to the target setting i lose all of the 110 signal.

I feel like I'm really close to getting it to work. Does anyone have any tips for trouble shooting this problem?

Any help would be very appreciated!

If you are only using one receiver or up to three there is no need for the switch.

for pointing I would remove it anyway.

run check switch on receiver with noting connected to it to clear matrix

hook up receiver to port 1 on lnb

when on point dish screen set to sat 119 and transponder 11, and scan for signal. make small adjustments and wait at least 20 seconds between adjustments as the vip receivers are slow to respond to a signal.

make sure mast is plumb and there is not blocking you line of sight to the satellites....

getting 110 on all 3 locations suggests a lnb to switch issue....
GL

Hi,

I'm a novice when it comes to dish installs and I've run into a signal problem.