Dish is great - until you have to deal with them

kesslerm

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 9, 2004
I've been a relatively happy Dish customer for the past 3+ years. I originally had Voom (my first DBS experience) and got 'moved' to Dish. After a delay and a poor install, I had a 942 and 811 up and running. I've been running pretty good since that day a few years ago. Although I'll never understand why one of my OTA HD channels would never work on the 811 and worked fine with the 942. Although I was an early HD adopter, I didn't see a good reason to upgrade to the MPEG 4 receivers. I still don't understand how more compression would give as good of a picture. Plus having to invest $$ to get the 942, I didn't feel I should give more $$$ to get a 622 or 722.

Since I'm a frequent reader here, I knew about the 'upgrade' that would be coming. I started getting quite a few notices to upgrade, but kept delaying. When I heard that July 31st would be the deadline to upgrade for free and probably the end of the MPEG 2 channels, I finally gave in. I took the latest date they would let me install (happens to be today, the 13th.) I knew it would take a great effort to watch all of the recordings that have accumalted on the 942. Also, knowing about my initial install delays, figured I should give them as much time as possible to make sure my equipment would be available. Actually I was hoping they would run out of the (outdated) 622's and be upgraded to the 722. (Seems only fair since I bought into the best equipment at the time.)

That brings me to yesterday (12th). I was fully expecting a call that would indicate a go or no go to the install. What do you know. A recording from Dish saying the install is on and to make sure to have enough room around equipment. Great, I won't have to reschedule my time off or install. Almost seemed too smooth. Maybe some of the problems have been ironed out with E*.