DISH to build the Google Assistant into Hopper DVR

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Scott Greczkowski, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. bluegras

    bluegras SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    3,225
    Likes Received:
    965
    As a application yes on the dish hopper 3 DVR add amazon music too
     
  2. TalonDancer

    TalonDancer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Posts:
    916
    Likes Received:
    143
    Hopper 3 - Alexa support — meh
    Google Assistant support — meh
    Amazon Prime Video support — Now we’re talking!

    If Dish expects to stem the cord cutting tide, it needs to make the Hopper 3 into the streamer's "set top box" of choice... that just happens to also provide Sat TV with a great DVR :)
     
    MikeD-C05, joegr, HipKat and 4 others like this.
  3. Cheddar_Head

    Cheddar_Head SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    451
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    The problem with this is Amazon has to be willing to develop and deploy a Prime app for the the Hopper. With the way that Amazon behaves when it comes to competitors, and Dish is definitely a competitor when it comes to selling a video service, I somehow doubt that a Prime app for the Hopper3 is in development and even if it is I would wonder about the quality. Just my 2 cents.

    Amazon would much rather sell you a FireTV stick or box.
     
    peggy97850 and charlesrshell like this.
  4. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Topic Starter Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    97,242
    Likes Received:
    12,961
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    I am sure with this announcement with DISH adding Google Assistant BUILT IN to the Hopper that the folks at Amazon are not too happy. :D
     
    MikeD-C05, ncted, joegr and 1 other person like this.
  5. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,379
    Likes Received:
    3,214
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    I would just add to this that whatever new streaming apps are coming (Hulu, CW, etc.) they should be integrated into all generations of Hopper, not just the Hopper 3. At a bare minimum, include the latest generations of each type (Hopper 3, Hopper Duo, Wally) instead of making the streaming apps exclusive to only one model of receiver.
     
    Jillian2 and bluegras like this.
  6. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,657
    Likes Received:
    7,561
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    What in that be like putting the newest version of the Adobe creative suite on a machine that runs windows 95?
     
    peggy97850 and DWS44 like this.
  7. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,379
    Likes Received:
    3,214
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    That is why I said the latest generations, in case it wasn't feasible on the original Hopper or Hopper 2. Hopper Duo and Wally are still fairly recent, the same generation as Hopper 3 or newer.
     
  8. dare2be

    dare2be SatelliteGuys God
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    11,734
    Likes Received:
    6,027
    Location:
    FL
    But they still might not have the horsepower or required chipset that the Hopper 3 has. Which is one reason why they are less expensive.
     
    peggy97850 and DWS44 like this.
  9. joegr

    joegr SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Posts:
    144
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Gulfport
    Personally, I use other device(s) to watch Netflix, Amazon, YouTube, Plex, and so on. As it is, I don't really have any interest in using the hopper for any of that. What would interest me would be if there was any way for the content (one show at a time is fine) to temporarily record to the hopper, so that I could use Dish's fast forward, rewind, and skip functions. As it is, no matter which device you use fast forward and rewind are downright painful on all the streaming services. I know this is more of a legal problem than a technical one, so I don't expect it to ever come about. (If it did, it would pretty much guarantee that I would always stay with Dish.)
     
  10. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,379
    Likes Received:
    3,214
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Okay, so they can fix that when they come out with Wally 2 and Hopper Duo 2. :D
     
    DWS44 likes this.
  11. DWS44

    DWS44 SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Posts:
    6,383
    Likes Received:
    3,401
    Location:
    Rock Hill, SC
    For all the want of an Amazon Prime app, here's another wrinkle to consider...even if Amazon were on board, how do retrans agreements/disputes spill over and overlap if Dish included an app that allowed Dish subscribers to view HBO, since the Prime Video app can incorporate HBO Now. Let's just imagine the Dish and AT&T legal teams wrapping their head around that possibility.
     
    Howard Simmons likes this.
  12. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,379
    Likes Received:
    3,214
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    That may be precisely why Dish would want to do this, and why they are in no hurry to get the HBO channels back. In another example of this, Dish subscribers in the few markets where the Locast app is available now have access to stream Univision through their Dish receivers, if their market has a local Univision affiliate.
     
  13. dvrexpander

    dvrexpander SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4,866
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Near a tree
    Ok so I can turn my hopper/tv on with Alexa..change channels but can't turn it off.
    If they can't make this work properly then why bother with something else?
     
    crodrules likes this.
  14. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,379
    Likes Received:
    3,214
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    I've got a better one for you. Try using Alexa to change to one of the Mosaic channels (100, 151, 870). ("Alexa, channel 151 on Dish" for example.) The channel changes to the multi-screen display, but the app never loads, leaving you with no way to select which channel's audio you want or tune directly to any of the displayed channels through the Mosaic app. This only happens when I use Alexa to tune to the Mosaic. Entering the channel number with the remote, or going to the Multi-View through the Apps menu, both work just fine. (I am seeing this problem on a Wally. So, other receiver models may or may not have the same problem.)
     
  15. nelson61

    nelson61 SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    5,568
    Likes Received:
    4,302
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    If they added Amazon prime and nothing else, I would be back to one remote with fast action and happy.

    Sent from my SM-G955U1 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    HipKat likes this.
  16. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    55,681
    Likes Received:
    9,079
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    I'm using one remote and it controls my Hopper 3, my AppleTV, my Roku, my Oppo UHD player, my AVR, and my TV and all the apps that go with them. It's called a Harmony 700! ;)
     
    HipKat, joegr and DWS44 like this.
  17. ScottChez

    ScottChez SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    124
    The Comcast X1 and hopefully soon Cox Contour (same System) now has Netflix and Amazon Prime, no legal issues there , they do it , even has integrated search.
    They did make it so HBO does not work through Prime, but guess they could change that during disputes.

    I agree one box for all Stream and that happens to have a great DVR is something everyone wants. Hulu, Prime, Netflix, Pluto, Plex and more all on Hopper please.
     
  18. bluegras

    bluegras SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    3,225
    Likes Received:
    965
    Amazon prime,hulu,Pluto and xumo on the hopper 3 DVR please thank you
     
  19. ScottChez

    ScottChez SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    124
    I would even pay DIsh Extra to have all the Streaming apps, would save me from buying a FireTV or Roku.
    Say something like 12 months divided by the 4K Roku or FireTV 4K price would be fair per month.
    Dish you can make more money and pay for the developer costs.
     
  20. bluegras

    bluegras SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    3,225
    Likes Received:
    965
    Great point
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...