Don't Understand Dishpass

owomp

Original poster
Jan 26, 2009
earth
Hi all,new guy here trying to learn and i got a question already :D

Really have a lot of issues with this.Many calls to Dish Network doesn't help because they don't understand and i get so frustrated with them.They should be able to explain how to use their equipment.
I am new to dish network,been directv for years.Comparing,dtv direcpass was so much easier...
Examples,
#1 I want to record E!,i set up dishpass,i say options,,set channel,set new episodes only,create the timer.Then it records like 4 episodes of E! .Same episodes.I only want to record it once a day.
#2 I type Lost in dishpass,setup channel,new episodes,create timer,then it records everything with lost in the title.lost in space,lost in time,lost in love etc...

Am i doing something wrong?The search feature is terrible,dtv,you start to type a name of a show you want to watch and as you type,shows show up on right side,click title,hit setup and your done.I really miss dtv:(

Could someone please help me?
Much Thanks

You're not doing anything wrong, except perhaps for expecting Dish's half-baked effort "dish pass" to work like the patented Tivo "season pass" feature.

#1 what is defined as "new" depends on accurate guide data, sometimes it is lacking.
#2 it is unfortunate that ABC chose such a common word to be the title of a popular show. And unfortunate that Dish didn't include an "exact title match" checkbox that you could enable.

It's best practice to use the search to find candidates for what you want, then select them and create once-only, or weekly, etc. timers. And then go back through the DVR schedule and be sure everything you want is scheduled, and remove what you don't want.

#1 is best done with a daily or weekly recording instead of Dish Pass. The recorder will adjust some, perhaps as much as an hour to match various time/length shifts--I don't know its rules.