Dual Distribution Amplifiers

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by StarScan, Feb 15, 2019.

  1. StarScan

    StarScan Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Posts:
    438
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    North Liberty, Indiana
    I'm wanting to expand my OTA antenna to second building. I'm using a Channel Master 8 port DA in the house and was wondering if I could connect a second one in the other building 160' away feeding off the one in the house.
     
  2. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,991
    Likes Received:
    4,194
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Sure, try it out and see how it works for you. Make sure you use a good run of RG-6, or even consider RG-11 for a run that far.

    It may not work out for you, but you can't know that for sure until you try it.
     
  3. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    6,222
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Make sure your electrical wiring is up to code. I have seen some pretty ugly fried electronics when AV & network distribution is run between buildings...
     
  4. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,016
    Likes Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    A DA is meant to take a good signal on one cable and turn it into about the same level signal on multiple cables. It is not designed to boost the signal for a long journey.

    A single adjustable amp off of the existing DA (or maybe a two-way splitter off the antenna down-lead) going to the second building with its own distribution system is really what you need; especially if the second building only has one or two outlets.
     
  5. . Raine

    . Raine SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    North America, CT.
    Try it right off of your existing DA first, if you haven't already. I have a 8 port Channel Master DA setup here that one run off of it is 300' to my parents house next door, been working great for years.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  6. StarScan

    StarScan Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Posts:
    438
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    North Liberty, Indiana
    Thanks for the replies everyone! Ill try the splitter right off the antenna first. My main concern was the possibility of damaging the DAs when linking them.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  7. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,016
    Likes Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Because the signal on the outputs of the DA is typically no greater than the input, there's no worry about that.

    How many outlets do you expect in the second building?
     
  8. StarScan

    StarScan Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Posts:
    438
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    North Liberty, Indiana
    7 coax outlets in the second building. I will run the coax this weekend weather permitting. I'm using RG-6 Quad.
     
  9. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,016
    Likes Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Quad shield doesn't help a lot with signal loss as the signal loss is mostly independent of the shielding. Extra shielding is more about avoiding stray signal leaking in (that can lead to a loss in signal quality) where the environment is dense with strong signals.

    RG11 cable (fairly expensive) has less loss/foot but it is up to the individual whether or not it is worth the extra money.
     
  10. StarScan

    StarScan Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Posts:
    438
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    North Liberty, Indiana
    I'll check into some RG11 then. Will ground blocks at each building help reduce lightning damage, or will I need coax surge protectors?
     
  11. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,016
    Likes Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Realistically, you can't even slow down lightning damage. The best you can hope for is to draw off static electricity build-up and that's what the grounding blocks do.

    As long as the overall wiring is sound in both buildings, you've done pretty much all that you can. I reason that coax surge protectors may offer some utility in an old-school (coax instead of fiber) cable TV situation where a lightning may travel long distances through the provider's network. Most are only good to less than 1000V where a nearby lightning strike is good for tens of thousands of volts.
     
  12. Wireless Engineer

    Wireless Engineer Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ohio
    [one thing to keep in mind here.
    Every building has it's own electrical ground reference so any wiring between the two buildings can create a large difference in potential during a power surge or lightning strike.


    UOTE="StarScan, post: 4335855, member: 189971"]I'm wanting to expand my OTA antenna to second building. I'm using a Channel Master 8 port DA in the house and was wondering if I could connect a second one in the other building 160' away feeding off the one in the house.[/QUOTE]
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...