Fringe Spot Beam Reception

Status
Please reply by conversation.

mecro

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 11, 2005
Cleveland, OH
I've got a single lnb 18" dish, trying to pull in Cincinnati locals from 47905, which is WAYY on the fringe of the spotbeam. I peaked everything myself, and managed 90+ on most 101 transponders, with ~60 on the spotbeam transponders (4 and 12).

My question is a two parter. First, what is the minimal acceptable signal strength for a directv signal? I am new to directv, and don't know what the breaking point is. I know 50-60 is fairly low for a signal off of 101, but how bad will it be impacted when rain fade sets in?

Second parter...Is it possible to get a bigger dish? I'm only looking at getting the 101 location, so a single LNB dish is all I need. If I got a larger dish, would I get any greater signal strengths on those fringe transponders?? Thanks guys!

I've got a single lnb 18" dish, trying to pull in Cincinnati locals from 47905, which is WAYY on the fringe of the spotbeam. I peaked everything myself, and managed 90+ on most 101 transponders, with ~60 on the spotbeam transponders (4 and 12).

My question is a two parter. First, what is the minimal acceptable signal strength for a directv signal? I am new to directv, and don't know what the breaking point is. I know 50-60 is fairly low for a signal off of 101, but how bad will it be impacted when rain fade sets in?

Second parter...Is it possible to get a bigger dish? I'm only looking at getting the 101 location, so a single LNB dish is all I need. If I got a larger dish, would I get any greater signal strengths on those fringe transponders?? Thanks guys!

Minimum for a fairly reliable signal (doesn't fade when a small duck passes gas) is probably in the 75 range.