General FTA question?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

someftaplz

Original poster
May 3, 2009
Texas
I have been reading about FTA so I decided to throw my hat into the hobby. Since I am a newbie I am having a had time putting all the FTA things together. I need some pointer so I can make baby steps. I have purchased

1) Sonicview 360 elite
2) Fortec Star 31"/80cm dish
3) Dual LNB
4) triplett- satellite signal meter

I followed most of the suggestion on this website and did some google search for other trouble shooting tips but after 3 days of playing around. I am ready to ask for help. I am trying to point the dish to the satellite 97 W. I got the Azimuth and Elevation from satellite calculator. I am getting 61% strength and 0% Quality.

First I am not sure how to use satellite signal meter correctly. Here is what I am doing

1) Adjust satellite elevation per specification on the dish. Hook up the satellite signal meter. Move the elevation adjustment until the needle moves to 100.

2) I am not sure all the correct value after selecting 97 W satellitte. I have no clue about transponder, frequency, universal and etc

I just want to watch one channel from 97W so I can learn how to setup FTA. I would greatly appreciate if someone can point me in the right direction. Thank you in advance for all the help.

Welcome to the forum.

1. What type of dual LNBF are you using? Do you have a model number or if you can get the frequencies off of it, that would help. Just want to make sure you are using a linear LNBF and need to know if it's standard or universal so you can type in the correct LO frequency into your receiver.

2. Can you put a small screen TV out there by your dish? If you can do that, it would make it much simpler, specially if it's your first time.

3. You need to make sure you are using the correct transponder frequency, symbol rate, and polarity and make sure it's not a dead transponder. Get on 11836/20765/V.