HD channels for DirecTV

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

dfacc

Original poster
Dec 23, 2003
hello- newbie here...

Just wanted to see if anyone knew if DirecTV is planning on adding more HD channels in 2004...?

thx
Dave

They will most likely add some when they get their new satellite up in February or March.
I'm hearing they might even add some before then.

Murdoch's team claims that they will double or triple the HD channles in 2004, but logistics may hinder this. With adding 70 new markets to the local scheme, there will be no room for even one more HD channel! LOL.

It may be announced yet, but DirecTV is building a new uplink in Long Island, NY with this new uplink center they will be able to add a lot more via the spot beams they already have.

Also I hear that in a few days DirecTV will announce the addition of a BUNCH of new International channels. Their selection of internationals is going to blow Charlie out of the water.

This is the reply i got from DirecTV

Dear Dave,

Thanks for asking about High Definition Television (HDTV). I can
reassure you that our current HDTV services are just the beginning - we
aren't stopping here! We have a track record of continuing to expand
the selection of channels we offer, and our HDTV lineup won't be any
different. We continue to explore adding new channels as compelling
content becomes available.

We are committed to remaining the leader in HDTV programming and we're
in constant discussions with various program providers to increase the
number of high definition programs we offer. Keep checking