Help! New to Satellite, Dish 322 (and Dish 500 HDTV Compatability) questions...

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

dpg

Original poster
Sep 11, 2006
Hi -

I am brand new to satellite TV. Just ordered Dish, and am having it installed on Saturday. Two quick questions:

1 - Is the Dish 500 HDTV-compatable? If I upgrade to an HD receiver, will the dish need to be changed as well?

2 - The Dish 322 receiver...I keep searching for info on how this dual-tuner receiver works, but can't find anything specific enough to answer this question: How does the receiver send the signal to the other TV? I see RCA's on the back...will the installer run RCA's to my other TV? How does the remote communicate with the receiver (One TV is on the second floor, the other is in the corner of the basement - is the remote Radio Frequency?)

I have an HDTV, but have opted out of the programming for the time being. However, it seems like this dual tuner receiver may cause some problems, so I might just have to go with the HDTV tuner now from Dish. Is the 322 generally well-accepted/well-liked by the users on the forum?

Thanks in advance for anyone's help........

dpg

Welcome! Answers: