Help with DVB and KU band

Status
Please reply by conversation.

jayway

Original poster
Feb 22, 2005
Greetings and salutations~

I'm a master control operator for a community access center. We have had a Drake monster satellite out on the side of the building for years and have only used it for various C-band and KU-band satellite downlinks. About a year ago, we were given a Digital receiver for Deutsche Welle. At the time, that was the only channel the receiver was used for....that is until I began playing around with it.

I can pretty much decipher how to get channels on the C-band. When it comes to the KU-band, that's where it gets tricky. I have been told that we do have a dual LMB on the dish. My question to all of you is this - Is there any means to check the KU-Band for anything without the digital receiver (we have both a digital and analog box)? Secondly, what am I doing wrong in entering the information into my digital box to get KU.

Any help you can dispense to me would be absolutely wonderful!!!
THANKS!

Make sure it is not a dual c-band lnb first of all, you will need a dual band feedhorn with lnbs, one for c-band and one for ku, if that is what you have, then you can make sure the conections are ok and start looking for ku. What box or boxes do you have?

Hello Jayway and welcome to SatelliteGUYS.US!

"Secondly, what am I doing wrong in entering the information into my digital box to get KU."

I guess you know that C-band frequencies have four digits and KU-band is five digits?

http://www.dmsiusa.com/charts.htm

Other than the above tip (What kind of LNB you guys have)

What are the problems you are having entering KU frequencies?
Any pictures of your big dish?

tdti1 said:
Make sure it is not a dual c-band lnb first of all, you will need a dual band feedhorn with lnbs, one for c-band and one for ku, if that is what you have, then you can make sure the conections are ok and start looking for ku. What box or boxes do you have?