Hopper Upgrade - Dish giving me no real options..

DeadEnd

Original poster
Aug 11, 2013
SC
I'm new to the forum but the past few days with Dish Network has brought me to finding this forum over and over for answers. I have a 14 year history with Dish, equipment, installations, worked as an installer for years.

So what brings me here. I'll save my complaints to the end.

I have 10 acres, house, 2000 square foot shop. I want to upgrade to the hopper/joey package. I travel for a living, nuclear contractor, and often take a receiver and a spare dish to the campground or apartment I end up staying at for a month or so before going to the next job. Obviously this wont work for me since Dish tells me I cant keep the VIP receivers on the same account, and Dish anywhere isn't always an option due to slow or no internet.

I go through about 2 722k's a year due to failing hard drives so I want a change of equipment in which one of the Loyalty team members today said that stuff doesn't last forever so I got kind of s***ty with him on the phone.

What I have learned is they are not going to give me a hopper and joey to replace the 722, without giving me 3 joeys to replace the 2 VIP single tuners.

Basically the distance between the shop and house doesn't permit the cable length, and having only joeys and hoppers, I cant necessarily take one with me on my jobs anymore.

My question is: Can I get a 2H/2J system and separate the hoppers? Run a hopper in the house with a joey, and run a hopper and joey in the shop (or take it with me when I go on the road) and use 2 satellite dishes? Do the 2 hoppers on one account need to "talk" to each other?

I've read of installers putting 2 dishes up for 2 hoppers before... it must work but Dish says "well I don't know why but it wont work at all if you do that".

I want the system, but I cant possibly connect this "network" together between the shop and house. They suggested I get a second account and pay double.....