How do fta tv stations work?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

jogon64

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 18, 2009
Northern Mexico
Hi, I´m still a newbie here, and I´ve gotta say I´ve gotten most of my fta knowledge from this site. I´m currently watching 30,79,97,101,125ku plus 99C all on fixed dishes. But I´m still curious.
How do fta tv stations work? I mean I understand they are not intended for us to watch directly, but who are they intended for then?
Let's take Cbs @125w. I´m watching Letterman last night (Shakira wow!!), then a commercial break and I see a nationwide commercial for say Macy´s, and then some weather forecast for St. Lucia in the caribbean, then some commercial for the 5 o´clock local news from Eerie, Pa.
So did this signal originate in NY, St. Lucia, or Pennsylvania?
Who was it intended for? All across USA, Pa, NY, or the caribbean?
Just trying to learn a bit more. Thanks.

The channel is WSEE which is based in Erie, PA. For many many years there has a been a "satellite" feed (way back in the days when C-Band folks could get networks from other places). This has recently been added to 125W but we dont know for how long

wiki has the info

Primetime 24