How many RG-6 cables to pull NEWBIE Question

stroker96

Sep 16, 2004
Newbie here, been lurking for a while, now I must ask.

I am building a new home. I was going to do a structured wiring system and let someone else pull all the wires needed for everything. But I have decided, and let a friend talk me into doing it myself. He works in the telecom industry and will do my phones for me.

My main concern, question is how many RG-6 cables do I need to pull to go to the dish? I called a local company today and they said 5 but RG-6 and labor is cheap at this point. I am putting a 90 in my beam so I can pull it down and outside, bury it in counduit to a tower I will be installing. I will also run conduit from the attic to the 90 incase I need more later. Does anyone have a good link to assist in a do it yourself structured wiring system?

RG-6 quad shield or RG-6 rated a 3.0 gig?

I have not decided whom I am going with but it will be the one with the best toys when I and the house are ready. I am leaning towards DN and the 622 as they should be plentiful and most of the bugs worked out when I am ready. There will be 3 other receivers in the home as well. Maybe one more HD but the other two will be SD. I will also be running RG-6 for an OTA antenna at the same time.

If I left something out please ask and I will answer.

Any help is appreciated.

KE4EST

SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
Staff member
HERE TO HELP YOU!
Lifetime Supporter
Aug 9, 2004
EM75xb
First of all welcome to SatelliteGuys.

Well it all depends on what market your in, but from experience, make sure you run at least two RG-6's to each main area. Also make sure you run a Phone line to each one also. (this is from experience since I'm in a Super Dish Market and Separators are useless unless you have a DPP44), but don't let that confuse you.

RG-6 Rated at 3.0 Ghz is fine, no real need for quad shield. Just buy good stuff.

What is your zip code and I or others will try to help more.

Mike500