How sensitive is the DISH OTA (Hopper) adapter?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Mark609, Jun 13, 2019.

  1. Mark609

    Mark609 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Texas
    I was getting quite a few OTA channels very reliably when DISH set up the Hopper and one Joey combo but recently I'm not. Set up is a 13 year old 8 bow tie CH 4228 antenna mounted 30' up, 13 year old CH Titan 7777 pre-amp, and one of the latest DISH OTA adapter releases. I've heard that this DISH adapter, tuner, is not near as sensitive as a typical flat screen TV's internal tuner.

    Also, do pre-amps burn out?

    Our TV towers are ALL close together on an antenna farm 56 miles away at an elevation of 1,200'. My antenna's elevation is 1,800'.

    Thanks
     
  2. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,711
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Sinle or dual tuner OTA adapter? If dual is it the first version or the second?
     
  3. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,207
    Likes Received:
    2,790
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    If your market is currently going through a spectrum repack, that might temporarily affect reception, and you may have to rescan for channels multiple times during the process.
     
  4. PasTypique

    PasTypique Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Michigan
    I find that my Sony TV is much more sensitive than the latest version of the Hopper 3 dual OTA tuner. However, the extra channels that the TV pulls in are not ones I watch. They all seem to be low powered and show non-stop home shopping or other such cons involving a barker.
     
    Mark609 and HipKat like this.
  5. reubenray

    reubenray SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    My Vizio TV's in my motorhome pulled in more channels than the AirTV Dual Adapter.
     
  6. bnewt

    bnewt SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Posts:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Shepherdsville, Ky
    I have both versions of the dual ota tuner.....dish & AirTV
    I still get the occasional "searching" on the screen
     
  7. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,711
    Likes Received:
    1,296

    You will never escape that completely. Sometimes atmospheric conditions disrupt reception.

    BTw there are three versions of the dual tuner. The original which was problematic and the a replace,et that is more reliable along with a near clone that is marketed for Air TV but works witha DISH Hopper.
     
  8. Mark609

    Mark609 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the input!

    I do too, same thing on both - pixelation, no signal. I supposedly have the most recent adapter releases too. Dual tuner.

    Apparently you need a signal strength of 83+ to be safe. I'm beginning to suspect my old Channel Master Titan 7777 has crapped out.

    This equipment gets rave reviews. Amps have VERY low noise compared to Titans.
    Product Selection Guide

    I've re-scanned a lot over the last 3 weeks.
     
    #8 Mark609, Jun 14, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019
  9. Mark609

    Mark609 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Texas
    My AirTV adapter is a late model, the #21368. DISH makes it.

    I ordered one from Mark at Dish Depot too, $59, and asked for the #213502 which he said he stocks and promised he would send. Instead he did a switcharoo on me by sending the older #213293, claiming it IS the #213502 release. When I complained and finally filed a dispute with my card holder company he said there would be a restocking fee, which was never mentioned nor is stated on his website.

    Yes, I am still pissed. I don't like cheaters.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...