HR22 for New Install?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

blakex

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Aug 15, 2008
Orange, CA
So, I'm about to sign up for DirecTV through the guys at Plasma Concepts and need 3 HD DVRs and 1 DVR. Dan at Plasma Concepts is looking into whether DirecTV is installing the new HR22's, but if they aren't, can I just go to Best Buy, pick up two of them and have the installer put them in for me?

I'll take whatever they have in the way of HD DVR for the free one, but if they're going to charge me $200 each for an older DVR, why not go to Best Buy and get the nice HR22's for $200 each?

I'm new to the satellite game and appreciate any help or answers you guys could give.

=Blake=

I'd call and ask. Because there are probably as many answers to your question here as there are members. Also, different CSRs will probably give different answers.

But, having said that, you could get 1 each SD and HD DVR installed and then later buy the 2 HR22s from BB.

Note that if you are a new customer and buy from BB, that an installation will be set up at the time the time of purchase

That's a good call about the SD receivers.

Also, if I order the receivers through the BestBuy site or Amazon, or wherever, how do they know if I have an account already? Their site says: "DIRECTV activation and subscription are required within 30 days of purchase."

And then what do I do with the SD receivers? Send them back?

I'd call and ask. Because there are probably as many answers to your question here as there are members. Also, different CSRs will probably give different answers.

But, having said that, you could get 1 each SD and HD DVR installed and then later buy the 2 HR22s from BB.

Note that if you are a new customer and buy from BB, that an installation will be set up at the time the time of purchase

When you cancel a reciever, if DirecTV wants it back they will tell you. They will also send a postage paid return box with instructions.