I just started installing?

I'm a Quality inspector for a local RSP, and I've tracked 30% of our service calls directly back to loose or improper fittings. Consider a 30 in-ib torque wrench an investment, along with the best prep and compression tools you can find. Discuss with your manager the benefits of a fitting and cabling class from your PPC provider. The benefits of correct tools and quality education, both properly implemented, will mean more time installing and less time on service calls. (Translated = fatter paycheck for the same hours worked, more profit for the shop!)

The 1000.4 calls for 90lbs torque on dish bolts. Try skywalker.com for tech tools on the cheap, as well as fittings,cable etc. if these are not provided. Get a flat,spade-handled shovel and sharpen the edge with a grinder or file. Use this to cut the grass and fold it back when trenching cable. When line is installed, simply refill ditch and flip the grass back over. This will leave a much cleaner ditch. Often you can't tell where the ditch was when it is done right. Speaking of fixing other people's messes, When you have to move a dish and cabling 25' or more on a trouble call, that is considered a re-install. Turn it in as such to Dish, you'll get paid more and the original installer will be backcharged. I did several of these at trouble call pay when I was new. These guys need to learn to do it right the first time, pay someone else to fix it, or get out of the business!

What type of company would make you fix other peoples piss-poor work? Do they pay you to do so? How long have you been with them? Have they always made you clean up other's work? Where are these guys? I want to avoid them if necessary.

Pay? No.. We get paid the same whether it's replacing an LNB or rewiring a crappy install in it's entirety.
The "Must broing all jobs to spec rule" has been in effect for about a year. The annpounce,ment was met with much grumbling and complaining.