I want to make some modifications. Can someone help with some questions I have.

t-rey99

Original poster
Jul 13, 2004
I'm a newbie here with some questions I hope someone can help me with. I have a Dish Network system about a year and a half old. It is a dishpro 500 with quad LNBF. I have four receivers (301's) leased from Dish Network. What I need is the ability to expand beyond four receivers (long story why. I won't go into it). I've been doing my homework and I think I understand how the quad works (twins with built-in switches). I am in a newly built house with RG6 cable. It's pre-wired to 7 or 8 different loacations in the house. All are homerunned to one location (at the dish location). The longest run is probably no longer than 80'. According to a document I downloaded from Dish Network, I can add a dp34 to allow me to serve additional receivers/tuners. Now some questions.
1) Is my assumption about needing only a dp34 switch correct or will there be additional equipment needed?
2) My intention is to buy additional recievers (301's) from e-bay. What do I have to do with the receiver? Does it have to be activated somehow with Dish Network? I'm under the impression that the additional $5 each I pay for the three additional receivers is for the lease. If I buy my own reciever, will I not have to pay the additional $5?
3) What's the difference between the blue card and the yellow card? Is it anything I need to be concerned with? I do know I need to buy a system with clean card or I will be responsible for any debts on it.

Any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.