Improve signal readings?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Diansul

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Apr 19, 2009
Texas
I'm new to DirecTV. I understand that the stronger the signal readings the less the issues with bad weather. These are my readings on a clear day. Could these readings be improved (I'm in East Texas - 75605) or are they as good as they can be?

99b 1-8 98 0 91 0 94 0 n/a n/a
9-16 n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a 74 0
17-24 65 61 29 0 80 84 80 82
25-32 n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a

99a 1-8 86 88 85 86 84 87 83 85
9-16 83 88 83 85 88 89 n/a n/a
17-24 n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a

101 1-8 98 98 97 96 97 100 98 100
9-16 98 98 98 98 99 100 97 100
17-24 98 0 98 99 97 100 97 100
25-32 97 0 98 90 97 100 96 100

103a 1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 n/a n/a
9-16 n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a 92 0
17-24 0 0 0 0 86 87 88 91

103b 1-8 89 94 85 89 87 92 84 88
9-16 88 92 83 87 87 92 n/a n/a

110 1-8 n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a 87
9-16 n/a 92 n/a 90 n/a n/a n/a n/a

119 1-8 n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a
9-16 n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a
17-24 n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a 98 0 96
25-32 98 100 98 99 0 99 98 100

Your readings are pretty good. You might be able to pick up 1 or 2 points on some, but I'd probably leave it. Remember that some of these are spotbeams and you will not get a good signal from them (nor should you).

I think the 99a and 103b strengths could be a bit higher. Those are the Ka sats and a bit more susceptible to rain fade.
You must have an H2x receiver.

Is it likely that the dish is not aligned optimally? I have a post mount, and the dingbats who did the free professional installation did not get the post plumb. It is out of plumb (at the top of the pole which sticks out about 4 feet from ground level, with reference to the base) about 1/4 inch leaning to the north and 1/2 inch leaning to the east.