1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Installing new receivers.

Discussion in 'Orby TV - Support Forum' started by NC Don, May 15, 2019.

  1. NC Don

    NC Don Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    28333
    Mas Tec has install my dish, antenna and first receiver, now I would like to do the other ones myself, what do I need other than a signal splitter and more coax cable.
     
  2. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,933
    Likes Received:
    1,987
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    How many "other ones" and what kinds of cable lengths are you contemplating?

    I bet they would have done them all for the one price (unless you're fixing to do something expressly prohibited by the Orby Customer Agreement sections 1f and 1k).
     
  3. NC Don

    NC Don Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    28333
    Up to 3 more, They would have ran the coax for an additional 150.00, but I wanted to try the service before I had too much money invested. Now if it is as simple as running the cable with a regular splitter, then I can do that.
     
  4. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,130
    Likes Received:
    6,120
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Easy to expand the Orby TV system. Use quality coax like RG6 quad shield and a quality splitter rated 3GHz. Don't use a splitter with more outlets than you need as the more the number of outlets, the higher the signal loss.
     
  5. Wescopc

    Wescopc SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Canby, Oregon
    You may need an amplifier for the OTA antenna when you split the signal 4 ways - let us know how it works with a passive splitter first.
     
    Titanium likes this.
  6. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,933
    Likes Received:
    1,987
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    It may be as simple as using an appropriate satellite splitter (5-2200MHz) with properly run (no sharp bends, no flattening) and properly terminated (no twist-on fittings) cables. If you add some complications like long cable runs or the OTA signal starts to drop, you may have to invest more than a little effort and maybe some extra components. The RF signal is reduced fairly significantly with each direction you split it (by ~82% in a four-way split) and it is further reduced by runs through long cables and yet again by any couplers used to join cables together.

    Regarding the splitter, you also need to make sure that at least one of the legs passes power from a receiver to the dish. Most satellite splitters do this but you must be absolutely certain.

    It isn't difficult but Physics applies and she can be a cruel mistress if you're not paying attention to the details.
     
  7. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,130
    Likes Received:
    6,120
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    You will want all legs of the splitter to pass power. If using a single port power passing splitter, signal will be lost on secondary receivers if the master receiver is powered off.
     
    k.r. likes this.
  8. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,933
    Likes Received:
    1,987
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    This is somewhat unique in DBS satellite and thus important.

    These devices certainly don't fall under the category of your typical hardware store splitter. The splitter will either say "all ports power pass", have red lines from all ports to the input and/or have the words "power pass" on each line with an arrow towards the input.

    It is probably a good idea to avoid splitters that claim MoCA compatibility.
     
  9. 5Rounds

    5Rounds SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    TN
    You might be better off using a dual LNB. You don’t have to use splitters at all. The more splices in the cable, the lower your signal.
     
  10. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,933
    Likes Received:
    1,987
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    The TS would appear to have a stock Orby dish assembly and wants to connect up to four receivers. I would imagine that finding a quad LNB assembly to work out-of-the-box with an Orby dish is not trivial. It would also create a new problem with the OTA feature if it is being employed.
     
  11. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,178
    Likes Received:
    10,195
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    If (and I don't know) an Orby signal can be split like Directv can, he doesn't need an additional lnb.
     
  12. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,933
    Likes Received:
    1,987
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    The entire Orby offering fits on two transponders so everything is on the cable all the time.

    With HEVC and a mixture of SD and HD, they're getting over 40 channels per transponder.
     
  13. cee

    cee SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Posts:
    63
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Hamden Ny
    Hello this is how i have my setup i have a 2 Orby receivers,it works okay for me, hope this helps. planning of adding more receivers one day.
    The Diplexer ant/sat output goes to the 4way splitter input.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      101.6 KB
      Views:
      48
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      108.5 KB
      Views:
      52
  14. 5Rounds

    5Rounds SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    TN
    I was thinking of an FTA dish. If he has the actual Orby dish, then a good splitter is the best idea.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...