Interesting test screen

Status
Please reply by conversation.

B.J.

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Oct 15, 2008
Western Maine
I was tuning around looking for FTA, and tried to get to that Ciel-2 sat at 129.
I didn't think I could get there, since it's down in the trees, and behind my garage, but I managed to pick up a signal (at least before something shorted out my receiver, maybe rain).

Anyway, there is an interesting looking test screen there on VPID 6187, channel 5842. Looks like some sort of nagravision test screen. I don't have a clue of what I'm seeing, but it seems to be real time info, as it has a clock running which is correct.

I'm not sure if this has always been there or not, since I've never tried hitting that sat before, so maybe this is old info. Didn't think there was any issue of this being in public area, since it's just a technical screen, not programming. Doesn't seem to be any audio. I just thought it was a neat looking page of info.

Now, back to figuring out what shorted out my receiver. :-( The Diamond 9000 was working fine, then all of a sudden nothing, says LNB fault, even though I plugged coax into Twinhan and it works fine. Still giving voltage, at least after I reset it.

Hi B.J.

Yes, that channel and a few other engineering channels are on there.

Been there for a long long time, back when it was ES 5 and as far back as 2004 for certain, probably longer.

On the channel you picked up, the screen switches every so many seconds (maybe a minute) and one of the screens displays something about EPG and last build, last sent and when the next to send will be. It it is an interesting screen. I like to amuse my friends with it! Ha Ha

RADAR

Hi B.J.

Yes, that channel and a few other engineering channels are on there.

Been there for a long long time, back when it was ES 5 and as far back as 2004 for certain, probably longer.