Is D* right for me?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Arterius

Original poster
Sep 28, 2007
Hey guys - total newbie here. I don't even know what I don't know, but I have spent a few days combing the forums, looking for a question/answer similar to mine, yet I've not found one. I'm generally looking for feedback and options, as they are currently available.

Here's our current setup: Currently an E* customer. Have been for nearly 4 years now. We have a single DVR-625, which my wife loves. We only have 2 TVs in the home, so it works very well. What she really likes is the ability to watch recorded content on either TV. She can record a show (some TLC or Lifestime junk... err programming) and then watch it on either TV1 or TV2, and still have the ability to watch something else on the other TV. We're quite pleased... well, she is.

There are a few channels that E* doesn't carry that I'd like to get (like, the mtn, for example). We're 20 minutes from CSU (in Colorado) and can't watch their games on TV, even over the air. Dish doesn't appear to be rectifying the situation anytime soon, so it's time I look for other options. However, in order to sell my wife on any change, we'd have to keep the capability of being able to watch recorded content on either TV (a centralized storage, essentially), and for the other TV to be operated independently.

From the postings I've read, it seems as though this isn't possible, but figured one of you brilliant folks might be able to better address my question than my random searchings. Thanks in advance for your help/advice.

Hey guys - total newbie here. I don't even know what I don't know, but I have spent a few days combing the forums, looking for a question/answer similar to mine, yet I've not found one. I'm generally looking for feedback and options, as they are currently available.