Is the 622 suppose to switch from sd to hd automatically?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

ZTaylor

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jul 25, 2004
Fairview Hts., IL
Im new to Dish. Just switched a few days ago from Directv.

Im very happy with my new 622 but have a question about it.

Ive noticed that my 622 doesnt switch from 480 to 1080 or 1080 back to 480 automatically. I have to go in a switch it in the settings menu. Is it suppose to do it automatically?
My old Directv H10 would do it, so I figured that this one would too.
I talked to the csr and he didnt know so he transferred me to an advanced csr, and he didnt know.

Does anyone here know?

Also on a different note, when I leave the setting on 480i and the 4x3 setting Ill get my HD channels to fill the screen. The picture looks sharp but Im assuming that its not in HD. So I was wondering if it was in HD or not? My tv is a 4x3 Sony.

Thanks for any help.

The 622 does not switch between the settings in the HDTV options automatically. When you have an HD source and the 622 is set to one of the HD settings you will automatically see HD, and it will display SD when that's what the source is. There's no reason to switch to 480i unless that's all your TV supports, which is apparently the case with your current Sony. 480i is not HD.

There is a fair amount of discussion in several threads about the 1080i and 720p settings, which is better and why - just "search" it and read what others have said about it. But you won't really see much difference other than aspect ratio until you have an HDTV. Time to upgrade that old TV...! (Use it for your TV2.)

Last edited: