Just ordered DISH - What should I look out for?

guito13

Original poster
Dec 4, 2007
Hi All,

I'm new to all of this so please bear with me. I recently ordered DISH through MyDishNow.com and was quoted a price of 40 bucks a month for the 100 channel plan plus locals and equipment. They said installation was free (including running all cable as my condo is not wired with coax) and they (the third party company) also tossed in some "gifts".

My question is, what do i need to look out for to ensure that the quoted price does not rise via. hidden costs? I don't have a home phone, should i watch out for the $5 fee for that? I dont have any HDTV's currently so opted for the DVR only, am I going to end up paying out the @ss to upgrade when i do get a HDTV?

I know its a lot of question and i know im probably coming across as very "green" here but I would greatly apprecaite your input.

Thanks in advance!

first you probably need written permeation from the association. it will be free install as long as the tech doesn't have to wall fishes, or attic work.yes you do have to have your receiver hooked up to phone line to save $5, there is $5 DVR fee. and if you got second box it will be $5. if you decide to go with HDTV later it always changes different promotions.

first you probably need written permeation from the association. it will be free install as long as the tech doesn't have to wall fishes, or attic work.yes you do have to have your receiver hooked up to phone line to save $5, there is $5 DVR fee. and if you got second box it will be $5. if you decide to go with HDTV later it always changes different promotions.

Thank you for the reply.

Good call on the association, i didnt even think about that. I know that they allow it as several people have dishes however ill give them a call just to make sure.

See, i asked them on the phone about the pulls & attic work as i KNOW that has to be done and they said it was covered and there would be no additional charge.