Locast (legal) Roku channel

Discussion in 'Cord Cutters Club (Internet TV)' started by Juan, Oct 6, 2018.

  1. Juan

    Juan Topic Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,084
    Likes Received:
    3,752
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    This works for people who live in areas that cant receive an over the air signal..
    Home - Locast


    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  2. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Locast only streams locals for folks in the Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Houston, and New York City market areas.
     
  3. Juan

    Juan Topic Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,084
    Likes Received:
    3,752
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Ever hear of a VPN?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  4. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Yes... But none of them will get me the locals for the market I'm in that has the local news I want. If I just want the network programming, I can get that with the networks own apps.
     
  5. rdale

    rdale SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan, United States

    I’ve heard of them - but nobody has been able to get one to work with Locast. What one are you using? Are you able to get NYC?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
     
  6. Juan

    Juan Topic Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,084
    Likes Received:
    3,752
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    I dont need one

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  7. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    15,655
    Likes Received:
    5,015
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    Some VPN providers will get theirs to work if you contact them. But I agree I tried my NYC and Chicago VPN's but Locast does not recognize I am in the city chosen. (Google maps shows me in the city, all else points to me being there but not locast)
     
  8. DRCars

    DRCars SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Posts:
    313
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Southern USA
    Your browser is probably
    The browser is probably revealing the real location. Have to use VPN AND install a location spoofer extension in the browser, AND use a fixed location in the spoofer. "Location Guard" can be used with Firefox. You also have to register before you can watch what is a rather poor picture quality ... at least in NY it is.
     
  9. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    315
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    Hopefully they will add more markets soon.
     
  10. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,939
    Likes Received:
    1,479
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    How is it doing that?

    There are ways to look for cookies from services that you may be a member of but generally, location is done through geolocation, not by your browser coughing up your address, zip code or anything else substantially identifying.

    Here's an interesting web tool to try:

    What every Browser knows about you

    The site says that I'm logged into Flickr, but I don't have a Flickr account.
     
  11. DRCars

    DRCars SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Posts:
    313
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Southern USA
    Been there. It reported I was on flickr also ... but I am not.

    Before I used Location Guard, Locast still thought I wasn't in NYC even though ip address was.

    Browsers use javascript and Google/Microsoft/Apple location service apis. Yeah, uses geolocation as well as other info. The browser will store where these services think you are ... right location or wrong. Firefox stores it using a setting in about:config "geo.wifi.uri" . You can actually replace that with a local file of appropriate content to spoof an exact location according to this:

    How To Disable Or Fake Your Location In Firefox, Internet Explorer & Chrome

     
  12. Jagosaurus

    Jagosaurus SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Greater Houston
    Holy smokes.... Locast is awesome. I get the following from Houston:
    - ABC
    - CBS
    - NBC
    - Fox
    - CW
    - PBS
    - My20
    - Ion
    - Multiple Spanish channels

    Someone from another market give it a shot and see if it routes to your nearest market... or does it only work in certain zip codes?

    Surprised this isn't getting more buzz.
     
  13. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,202
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    It says I am logged into flicker as well, which I don't have.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...