rad

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Lifetime Supporter
Cutting Edge
Sep 7, 2003
Dripping Springs, TX
Just happened to notice that 7, 24 and 42 now have HD MPEG4 channels up and running, no KXAN/36 though is showing up in the guide.

Yes. I noticed it too. 36 should be digital as well. I wonder what the problem is.

Do you get PBS in hdtv? I don't

itzelm said:
Yes. I noticed it too. 36 should be digital as well. I wonder what the problem is.

Do you get PBS in hdtv? I don't

No on PBS. D* usually doesn't do the PBS stations on LIL-HD yet.

As for 36, usually it's a case of the stations owners and D* can't come to terms on how much money to pay for allowing D* to carry the signal.

I'm new to the HD world. Are the local Austin channels on Dish, the other brand, or OTA?

Thanks for the insight. I hope they come to an agreement. :) And I hope we get PBS digital too!

mmiiguy said:
I'm new to the HD world. Are the local Austin channels on Dish, the other brand, or OTA?

I don't think so, go to the Dish web site, select local channels under programming and put your address in, the site will tell you. Other then that you should be able to receive the OTA with an antenna and ATSC tuner, such as the 811/ 921, etc.

D* HD LIL for channels 24 and 42 don't look good

OK, I've had a chance go play around a bit and here's what I see on my sets. Channel 7 looks OK but 24 and 42 have what folks in other HD LIL cities call the 8MM problem, it looks like a low frame rate as if you're watching an old 8MM movie. I see this on my two HR20's and one H20. I don't see this problem on my H20 when tuned to the ATSC OTA channel, just the D* HD LIL feed. Anyone else see the same???

Hoping 42 and 54 come in as a package...and maybe that's part of the slowdown.

Will anyone at D* or KXAN be willing or able to answer why they're not up yet?

No Need for D* or KXAN comment

chris_fowler99 said:
Hoping 42 and 54 come in as a package...and maybe that's part of the slowdown.