Mini Bud on P*dish question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

putney

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Aug 12, 2009
St Louis, missouri
Hi all! This is my first thread. I've read just about every MiniBud thread I could find but found the need to start my own. I've appreciated the wealth of knowledge I've gotten from this site, and hope to find a solution.

History: I found a oval P*star dish while hiking in the woods and decided to see what fta was about. I had to hack a mount off of a DN dish as the P*dish had none. Then I picked up a JSC322 Ku Lnb and picked up my first sat! Two weeks later I was mobile with a sg6000 and hitting ever sat I wanted, and pulling programming. Soon after programs started falling off; equity etc. So my next step was to go mini bud. I got a BSC421 (as I read that C/Ku lnbs suffer on the Ku side on mini buds). At first the BSC421 was on the side of my Ku, and I got a lock on a sat, but no channels. My next step was to shift priority to C-band and put Ku on the side. This brings me up to date.

On my Ku setup I figured I was 15º off center, so I reset my USALS for those sats. I find my Ku is down about 25-30Q points and it isn't following the arc I had set before. I fashioned a scalar ring out of aluminum flashing and as I pinched it into an oval (like the dish) the quality on one TP on one sat jumped from 55Q to 95Q! Excited, but could not reproduce those results anywhere else. My C-band, which is centered, doesn't follow the arc well either, but I do lock (no channels) on some. [BTW, Replacing the C for Ku lnb shows me my original arc is still on point.] I'm located at 90.6w so I aim my C at G17/91w. With some work I got 35-40Q on 3 TPs and 10Q on TP 3720. I've tried the BSC421 with the stock scalar ring and a conical ring, but use of these rings kill the signals for me. I'm thinking the feedhorn on it is too long for my dish.

Questions:

•Has anyone motorized a mini bud, or is that asking too much?