More installer humor. (Grounding related)

pfef98

SatelliteGuys Family
May 31, 2004
Pace, FL
The installer who did my install a few weeks ago did it the morning I was flying out of town, and I didn't have time to notice whether he grounded the dish properly or not, I asked the guy, and he said "It's ok".

Fast forward to when I get back in town and do a thorogh inspection. No grounding, whatsoever. Nothing on the coax, nothing on the dish, no grounding at all. I call the installer and he says "I've been installing all kinds of dishes for 15 years and we have more lightning problems with grounded installations than non-grounded installations, so we don't ground them unless the customer specifically requests"

So they're coming out Wednesday to ground it properly.

Glad these guys are using anecdotal data instead of science and NEC to install these dishes.

--Matt

PSB

On vacation
Nov 5, 2003
:D Now if only EVERYONE done this we would be getting somewhere, well done its just not fair to the customer, the retailer, REAL installers, D* or E* not to ground to local and NEC code! Great Story!

CablerMN

SatelliteGuys Pro
Supporting Founder
Jul 10, 2004
Grand Rapids, MN
It's an all to common problem experienced nationwide. What I find even more troubling is that the installer lied straight to your face and then tried to lay the responsibility back on you for not requesting it.

ken

SatelliteGuys Pro
Sep 8, 2003
Sorry, but I agree with the installer... I'm glad I don't do satellite anymore.

Neutron

Founding Supporter
Supporting Founder
Nov 7, 2003
Texas
How can you agree with the installer? How can you have more lightning problems with grounding? With PROPER grounding to NEC code you will stop the possibility of having the lightning destroy your TV and receiver.

Jahntassa

SatelliteGuys Family
Jun 4, 2004
Atlanta, GA