need help wih sat dishes

deserteagle

Original poster
May 28, 2004
Hey Folks
I am new to dish.
I need to get actual sat Dish and switches.
It is confusing to say the least.
Here is what I have
Dish 4700 receiver
Dish 6000u Hi Def Receiver
I want to get hd and regular programming on 6000u
and regular programming on 4700

I have directv elliptical dish but that may be of no use
Please advise what dish or dishes and what switches I need.
Thanks for your time
Deserteagle :eek:

I'm thinking your best bet is to get a Legacy Dish 500 with Dual LNBFs (not DishPro!) and a pair of SW-21s, or maybe a Twin LNBF.

If you get DishPro, I think you'd need an adapter for the 4700 - dunno about the 6000.

Click here for a 2 Dual installation diagram.

Click here for a Twin installation diagram.

Click here for some pics of the LNBFs.

SimpleSimon said:
I'm thinking your best bet is to get a Legacy Dish 500 with Dual LNBFs (not DishPro!) and a pair of SW-21s, or maybe a Twin LNBF.

If you get DishPro, I think you'd need an adapter for the 4700 - dunno about the 6000.
Yup, in his case legacy would be best as BOTH receivers are legacy. I have a 6000U and need the adapter.
The only caveat would be if he needs to run the cables over 100 feet. Then he would need the Pro series and adapters for both.
Parts are easily obtainable at www.dishdepot.com and probably at many other places.

Just for my info
Where and what are sat locations and programming??

61.5 is ??
110 is??
119 is??

Thanks again
Deserteagle

For the 119 sat you aim at 207 on a compass,110 aim at 193, & 61.5 aim at 119. Your elavation depends on how far north/south you live.The middle of the USA is usually around 45 deg elevation. You should be able to enter your zip code on the point dish/signal screen in the installation menu on one of your recievers for each dish. It will then give you the azmuth( compass location),elavation,& skew for the Dish 500(no skew needed for Dish 300).