Need Help with DVB-S, Card ADS Tech

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Pepse

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 17, 2009
Western Wisconsin US
I am new to DVB but have been a BUD user for about 15 years. Oh, yeah, I am new on this web forum, too:).

Anyway I have been wanting to try DVB/FTA for years but could never afford a receiver. So, recently I purchased a ADS Tech PTV-341 PCI card and have it in my computer. I am mainly a Linux user but have a small hard drive with winXP SP2. When I installed the card in windows I installed the drivers and the software and I can't get any signal. Same with my 2 different Linux OS's. I have tried Galaxy 10R and Galaxy 14 and Galaxy 25. Only with my KU LNB as I don't have a Disequ swtch yet and since there is nothing on the C-Band KU with my short dish mover, 24 inch, I just ran the KU coax to my computer. I know my KU LNB is Good as I went to X4 and was able to bring up the program guide.

Is my mistake the ADS Tech card? Sometimes I am cheap. Or ?????

My BUD setup is a 10ft mesh SAMI going to a GI 922 4DTV receiver. Both The C and KU LNB's were upgraded about 2 or 3 years ago.

The computer is a 3.33 ghz CPU and 2 Gigs of RAM.

Later. Pepse.

Regarding Linux, the first thing to determine is if your card is supported in the linux kernel. Here is a link to get you started:

DVB-S Devices - LinuxTVWiki

What does 'dmesg' say about your card, is there any mention of whether it is found and loaded or not loaded? What software are you using in LInux to view transmissions?

It seems your card may be supported by some versions of Progdvb in Windows?

My experience so far is that you need a considerably stronger signal for reliable reception on a DVB-S card than you would for a standalone receiver. Make sure your dishes and lnbs are aligned as accurately as you can tweak them.

Under Linux you can verify the drivers are loading with some commands like this:
$ dmesg | grep video[0-9]