New 721 Bug? No Audio.

avediswolf

I'm Back!
Original poster
Lifetime Supporter
Apr 22, 2005
Columbus, Ohio
Had a weird one, Was watching The Office on NBC, when all of a sudden the audio went out. I at first thought "Darn Station" and waited for a while, before I gave up on the station only to find out there was no audio from any channel.

I started playing with wires, Using the RF out to Ch.3, Using the RCA outs, tried everything, still no audio.

Did about 3 reboots, ( Pulled Plug ), and still nothing. But, on the next reboot, I left it unplugged for a while. During it's "Acquiring Data From Satellite" I wanted to do a check switch, but noticed on the dish pointing screen, I heard the sound. So I wated for the boot, No audio. Went to the dish pointing screen, Still no audio there either.

Reboot again. This time during the Acquring Data, I went to the PVR menu, and played a recorded event, audio was fine. I stopped it. Once completely booted, No audio anywhere, Channels, DVR, Signal Strength, all quiet.

That's what made me think it was software, since the hardware is clearly working before it boots all the way.

Anyway, It finally came back, for about 30 minutes, then suddenly went quiet again.

Anyone else? I've only had this box for a couple days, could it be bad? If I'm the only one, maybe I should have it swapped. Otherwise, it's working fine, just the audio is driving me nuts.

Oi Vey, I'm done messing with it, Going to bed. :confused:

They put new software on our boxes that is causing MAJOR problems. They should remove that build and force the old software back.

My system is going completely black when I'm recording programs, then if I hit the power button, it shows the "Press Select" thing, then it seems to reset to channel 101, but without showing anything. I can get my programs back, but it is ANNOYING!! I can't watch one live show while recording something else.

Thanks a lot Dish.