New 811 install...where's the beef?

brooks

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 31, 2004
Had the 811 installed yesterday on my Mitsu 65611.I am NOT a techie on this stuff, but I know that the tv broadcasts in 480i, 480p and 1080i. All my HD channels are coming in at 480i...isn't that SD?I cannot get it to format in 1080i. ESPNHD looks no better than what I already have.

The format button on my tv remote works but the format button on 811 remote doesn't change the picture one bit so I'm assuming at this point that something is not plugged in correctly, somewhere. It would have been nice if the installer knew more about it than me (which ain't saying much).He had the Monster RCA cable plugged into the component inputs so I switched those over to the DVI inputs right next to it....no change.

Any ideas out there?

Not to be a smart-ass, but how did you plug your RCA cables into the DVI connection? Must have a bunch of duct tape back there. :)

For the DTV (including HDTV) formats, you need to be using either the Component (three RCA connectors, red, blue and green) cable which came with the 811 or the DVI connections. If you don't have a functioning * format button, you aren't viewing the signal over the HD connections.

My final conclusion is that your TV isn't set to the component input.

My screw-up...I should have said DTV not DVI.
So if that's in place where it should be, you think perhaps that I have to change something in my tv's settings?

Use ONLY the component connection to the TV, then see if you have a picture. You will also need to be using a L/R audio cable. That's five cables connected between the 811 and the TV. This will rule out you accidentally watching an SD connection. I don't know the settings on your TV, but the input needs to be set to the component input. DTV could just be a label, not necessarily a connection.

Use component 1 or 2. It looks like DTV needs a H and V sync signal too.