New Customer Free for 3 Month offer

Instinct

Original poster
Jan 26, 2009
Colorado
I have a neighbor ready to sign up with DISH but she doesn't want to take all premiums in the "free for 3 month" offer. Does DISH require the customer to take all 4?

No, a customer does not have to take any of the premium movie channels. They are just a promotion to get new customers.

None of my business, but if they are not charging you for three months, what difference does it make if you get two or four for the first three months? Cancel the two you do not want after the 3rd month. Seems simpler to me, believe me, they are NOT going to understand what you are wanting to do.

Reactions: JSheridan
So DISH allows the customer to take two premiums instead of all four?

Oh, that I'm not sure on. I believe you have to take all four but I've never done it before. Customers either take them all or don't take any. Why not just take all of them if they are free?

Echoing an above sentiment, why not take the freebies?? She can get into her online account (My Offers) and choose for the channels to end rather than keeping and paying.

I believe that the CSR can also check a box on the order so that at the end of the 3 months of premiums it auto-expires so the customer doesn't get a 'gotcha' and get stuck paying for a month before they can cancel.

Usually when I get free or reduced premiums, CSR would setup any premiums to auto expire so it gets removed automatically
So I don't have to worry about calling, I would think Dish does the same, or remove it online.

There are two different kinds of freebies you can get. Roll to pay(charges after expiration) or roll to drop(removed itself). If set up with roll to pay(first three months of service is rtp) then you have to go online to set it up to fall off automatically, or contact a csr 2 weeks prior at the earliest to have it set up to fall off.