New Dish installer needs help!!

wadethecableguy

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jun 28, 2006
I have been installing for almost 15 years now, starting with Primestar and then Direct. I just recently started doing Dish ( last week) I have a couple questions (couple hundred) and was wondering if anyone could help.

1 What about flat wires? Do they cause issues with signal? I've heard yes and no.

2 I have a BirdDog signal meter. Works great for Direct but not so well for Dish. I get intermittent readings, LNB shorts and all kinds of crazy readings. Anyone have any tips or suggestions?

I've got plenty more questions, but I'll just start with these.
Thanks

I only use the flat cables in apartments and only when necessary. I just read a post earlier where people swear that if you use it in a window or door that is never opened, they can last for awhile. I don't like to use them but some times they are necessary, I guess.

I can't help you with the Bird Dog. I don't make that kind of money. :p

Im not an installer, but I had an el cheapo style flat cable in 2004 at my apartment(added a 2nd dish receiver upstairs) that had to come in the window. Had it a year with no problems.

The one a E* installer used this go around(moved to SC) looks much more heavy duty. I feel if they are in a static enviorment you are prob good to go. I see some guys here in the apartments run them in thru front doors and sliding doors and they get smashed pretty bad.

I actually loosened the glass on the stationary side of my sliding rear door and had him put it thru there. I am gonna order a couple of spares just in case so I dont have to call someone out for something so minor.

The flat cable I have is like this, pretty well built

Dish Depot

Flat cable, as stated with not a daily used window/door be ok.

You probably tried using your birdog with a dp plus twin, they can't handle plus twins, use a dish pro twin/quad.