New guy...811 question

Tweak

Original poster
Jun 23, 2005
I have read here on the forum use s-video for their standard programming and get a better picture. I tried running a new s-video cable from the back of the 811 to an open input on my set (Sony LCD), but when I switch to that input, all I get is what looks like color static near the top of the screen. I am currently using an DVI to HDMI conversion cable to the HDMI connection on my set. I would love to get my regular channels close to what they were with the old 311 if possible...Am I supposed to change a setting in the 811 to use s-video or should it just work by me switching inputs on my TV? I'm kinda green, as I am new to this stuff..Thanks for any help you can provide.. :)

My standard troubleshooting procedure is to remove all the cables except the one that I'm testing (s-video, in your case). Then, when I see a picture, I know it's coming from that source. If composite works, and s-video doesn't, you've got a bad box.

And welcome to satguys. :wave

Both the SD and HD outputs output at the same time so you should not have to change a setting to make it work. Couple things I would do to trouble shoot.

1) Try a different svideo cable if you have one.
2) Try the hookup on a different TV if possible.
3) As Mike suggested, Try the Composite line and see if you get a picture.

If one and 2 dont indicate no picture, I would lean towards a bad box. As to getting better SD through svideo. Opinions Vary on this one and your Mileage may vary. Not sure the size of your LCD but the bigger you go the softer SD becomes as it upscales.