New Sat guy in need of setup help!

nyrobal

Original poster
Jul 11, 2006
Greenville, SC
I am new to the satelite game having just left Charter (the Devil) in SC. I have just gotten a Dish 500 with a PVR (used). Is there anyway I can wire my pvr to play on all on my TV's (3)? I don't mind the same programming being on all TV's and I don't have the money as of yet to have a diff receiver on all three. The installer told me it was possible and left me 2 diplexers but I can't make head or tales of how to use them. I figure this can't be illegal because I was told my remote was UHF that can work up to 200 ft away. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You don't need diplexers, just a 3 way splitter. Take the TV out line from the receiver and put it in the 3 way splitter. Then the 3 lines coming off the splitter will go to your 3 TV's including the one that has the receiver. Easy as 1.2.3.

Thanks!!!!!

Thanks for the help!!! But is there anyway to do it using the existing cable lines in my house and without running a seperate lead to each tv?

thats what the installer left the diplexers for... here is a quick diagram i whipped up... it sucks and i'm sure someone will pipe in with a better drawing, but this should give you an idea...

Attachments

• diagram.bmp
    467.3 KB · Views: 243
thats exactly what yuou need to do just make sure u match up the sat in from dish and sat out for reciever and keep the uhf as yout tv outs behind the first tv and the other splitter too

When I grow up I want to be just like you!

Birddoggy!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are the man, thanks a million! Your diagram worked like a charm. It took me less than 5 minutes to get it right. Thanks to all that replied. Bless ya!!!

ha, thats funny, because I made up basically the same diagram for a Directv installer that we have installing dish for us now... and it took him forever to grasp the concept of it.... glad you got it working

nyrobal said: