New to FTA

Status
Please reply by conversation.

olyeller

Original poster
Jan 24, 2006
I have a 4dtv with 10' mesh. I like to play around with it to see what I can pick up. This has led me to FTA. There are numerous threads that speak to getting started, but they seem to address specific issues. Is there like a basic FTA primer somewhere? I'm not so much interested in actually viewing the stuff as I am in seeing what I can get. I have many years experience in both electronics and computers. All the way from vacuum tubes to IC's and MF 360's to today's laptops. For example, some of my questions would be: purpose of the DISQE switch; smart card purpose; use the same 10' dish for the 4dtv and the FTA ... thanx in advance

Hi There (just like you)

Like you, I have a 4dtv + 8 ft perforated aluminum BUD.

I also had a yearn to find out about this "other" satellite" system out there, so I picked up an FTA receiver + a couple of High Freq Splitters and attached it! There was nothing really that caught my attention other than the concept and sheer number of channels out there!

Since I was already getting KU and my system was "dialed" in pretty well (or so I thought), I had almost instant gratification! BLIND SCAN as far as I am concerned is a must Have! Also since FTA is mostly KU, you will probably discover a few mistunes in an existing setup. With Blind Scan I just point the dish at an FTA bird, set the polarity on the 4dtv and hit blind scan...the FTA receiver searches the entire satellite and locks in the channels available so you can save them

The only "problem" (I am lazy) is using the 4dtv to switch polarity so that the FTA polarity is correct, depending on channel. It is a little bit of a pain but is worth it. Like you I am more interested on what I can pull in...so far it is simply amazing. THERE IS TV FROM PLACES THAT I NEVER EVEN KNEW EXISTED!